College of Charleston; Porter's Lodge
The Gate Lodge at the College of Charleston for the porter (caretaker) was completed in 1852. It was designed by Edward B. White as part of the 1850 expansion, which included the east and west wings of the main building, portico, and Roman Iconic pillars.
The main building had been constructed in 1828-29. The College of Charleston was founded in 1770 and chartered in 1785. It is the oldest college south of Virginia and the first municipal college in the US. The main building, library, and the gate lodge are listed in the National Register and designated a National Historic Landmark November, 1971.
Following the evacuation of Charleston ahead of the Union troops entering the city on February 18, 1865, John Cahill, porter of the College of Charleston, alone remained on campus.
The buildings, including the books of the Charleston Library Society were spared as the result of the foresight of Mr. Cahill. He refused to allow Union troops on campus and requested of the Union Commandant, Colonel Stewart Woodford, protection for the campus.
Colonel Woodford generously responded by issuing orders that the campus was not to be entered and stationed guards to ensure his orders were obeyed.
Charleston photographsCharleston black and white photographsCharleston monochrome photographsCollege of CharlestonLodge at College of Charleston photograph
From Charleston, SC & lowcountry